Disney’s 2021 Slate And Born In China


This Week Cars 3 gets a full trailer and it looks like a return to form for the Franchise. Disney releases its entire slate of films through 2021 and refuses to name some movies that really should have names. Plus we talk Born in China and how Beauty and the Beast beat Star Wars…That and much much, more. For the Week of May 1, this is Episode 129 of The Disney Movie Review.

Sorry for the long intro this week, but I wanted to let you know that I will be accepting advertisers for the show. (If you listen to the show and want to promote your business, you’ll be able to buy time for a discount!). That being said, I can promise you three things. 1.) I will always let you know when I am promoting an ad. 2.) I will do my best to use the money to improve the show. 3.) I will do my best to not waste your time.

CARS 3 Trailer

Pixar released the first full trailer for Cars 3 this week. Take a look at the trailer here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LeOH9AGJQM). This appears to be a return to form for the franchise. It is apparent that it is following the “redemption story” format a little closer than the second one did. Owen Wilson is returning as Lightning McQueen and we get our first real look at Cristela Alonzo as Cruz Ramirez. This trailer also confirms that Larry the Cable Guy will be back to voice Tow Mater. Ed brought up a good point that it is rather late in the season for us to get our first real trailer for Cars 3, since the release is slated for June 16. That said, I personally don’t have a huge need to see more of this film. I just hope it is better than Cars 2.

Walt Disney Studios Release Calendar

Disney released its movie calendar through 2021, instantly causing a lot of speculation from fans. You can see the full slate thanks to Deadline.com here(https://pmcdeadline2.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/disney-release-calendar-wm.pdf). It’s interesting to note that Disney stayed away from any December releases in 2020. That is when Jame Cameron’s sequel to Avatar – a.k.a. The biggest movie of all time – is expected to drop. I don’t think Disney is necessarily afraid of Cameron as much as they are working to protect and advertise for the World of Pandora in Animal Kingdom. It doesn’t make sense to undercut the parks side of the business just to prove how popular Star Wars or Marvel is.

It’s also interesting to note that Disney did not name the Avengers film nor the DisneyToon Studios film in 2019. We’ve known both of these movies are coming since 2015, so they aren’t a surprise. I suppose they might be waiting to do a big reveal at D23 in July, but it seems a little odd. This is especially true for the Avengers film, which we know is part 2 of Avengers: Infinity War. Maybe they just have a snazzy title for it.

Finally, we have a release date for Frozen 2!! November 27, 2019, Anna, Elsa, and the whole gang will be back for another adventure in Arendell. I can’t lie, I’m excited for this one. There is a reason Frozen took the world by storm and I still count it in my top 5 of Disney’s animated films. I’m not sure it will recapture the magic of the first one, but if it even comes close it will be something I can’t let go.

The full slate can be found at the end of this article.

BORN IN CHINA REVIEW

I haven’t seen Born in China yet, but Ed gives a great review on the show and on his site, DisneyMovieDatabase.com. (https://www.disneymoviedatabase.com/copy-of-monkey-kingdom) Overall he gave it an 8 out of 10, saying that the movie is “looks magnificent” with compelling writing. The producers spent more than one year making the film and went through a lot of pain to capture footage we’ve never seen before. For example, this is the first time you will ever see Snow Leopard cubs in the wild on camera. DisneyNature caught that . Read more about what it took to make the movie here. (http://www.slashfilm.com/born-in-china-interview/2/)

2017 Films

5/5/17 GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY VOL. 2 (3D)

5/26/17 PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: DEAD MEN TELL NO TALES (3D)

6/16/17 CARS 3 (3D)

11/3/17 THOR: RAGNAROK (3D)

Wed 11/22/17 COCO (3D)

12/15/17 STAR WARS: THE LAST JEDI (3D)

2018 Films

2/16/18 BLACK PANTHER (3D)

3/9/18 A WRINKLE IN TIME (3D)

4/6/18 MAGIC CAMP

5/4/18 AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR (3D)

5/25/18 UNTITLED HAN SOLO STAR WARS ANTHOLOGY FILM (3D)

6/15/18 THE INCREDIBLES 2 (3D)

7/6/18 ANT-MAN AND THE WASP (3D)

8/3/18 UNTITLED DISNEY FAIRY TALE (Live Action)

11/2/18 MULAN (Live Action) (3D)

Wed 11/21/18 RALPH BREAKS THE INTERNET: WRECK-IT RALPH 2 (3D)

Tues 12/25/18 MARY POPPINS RETURNS

2019 Films

3/8/19 CAPTAIN MARVEL (3D)

3/29/19 UNTITLED DISNEY FAIRY TALE (Live Action)

4/12/19 UNTITLED DISNEYTOON STUDIOS

5/3/19 UNTITLED AVENGERS (3D)

5/24/19 STAR WARS: EPISODE IX (3D)

6/21/19 TOY STORY 4 (3D)

7/19/19 THE LION KING (Live Action) (3D)

8/9/19 UNTITLED DISNEY LIVE ACTION

11/8/19 UNTITLED DISNEY FAIRY TALE (Live Action)

Wed 11/27/19 FROZEN 2 (3D)

12/20/19 UNTITLED DISNEY FAIRY TALE (Live Action)

2020 Films

3/13/20 UNTITLED PIXAR ANIMATION (3D)

4/3/20 UNTITLED DISNEY LIVE ACTION

5/1/20 UNTITLED MARVEL (3D)

6/19/20 UNTITLED PIXAR ANIMATION (3D)

7/10/20 UNTITLED INDIANA JONES

8/7/20 UNTITLED MARVEL (3D)

11/6/20 UNTITLED MARVEL (3D)

Wed 11/25/20 GIGANTIC (3D)

2021 Films

3/12/21 UNTITLED DISNEY LIVE ACTION

6/18/21 UNTITLED PIXAR ANIMATION (3D)

Wed 11/24/21 UNTITLED DISNEY ANIMATION (3D)

FAST FLICKS

In Fast Flicks this week we found out that Mulan will have music, but may or may not be a Musical. I’m hoping for Not. 

http://screenrant.com/mulan-live-action-disney-music/

Disney’s stock is approaching its all-time high of $120/share. This update comes despite massive layoffs at ESPN. Kristin had some great thoughts about this that she sent in to the show.

http://www.foxbusiness.com/features/2017/04/26/espn-layoffs-underway-as-disney-stock-nears-all-time-high.html

Black Panther has wrapped shooting and we are anxiously awaiting its February 2018 Release.

http://www.denofgeek.com/uk/movies/black-panther/43037/production-wraps-on-marvels-black-panther

The Live-action Beauty and the Beast knocked Star Wars: A New Hope out of Top 10 Domestic films of all time. Beauty earned $471 million domestically, which beats the $460.9 million earned by Star Wars. That said, when adjusted for inflation the original Star Wars has earned $1.5 billion domestically. 

http://movieweb.com/beauty-beast-2017-star-wars-domestic-box-office-top-10/

Mark Hammill came out this week saying he originally hated the script for Star Wars: The Last Jedi. ” “When I read [episode] eight I told Rian, ‘I fundamentally disagree with virtually everything you’ve decided about my character’,” He said in an interview. “But it might be a good sign! Because I was really wrong about [episode] seven].”

http://www.inquisitr.com/4167838/mark-hamill-daisy-ridley-originally-hated-the-star-wars-the-last-jedi-script/

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 earned more than $6 million in its first day overseas. That’s actually a lot of money.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/box-office-guardians-galaxy-vol-2-soars-66m-first-day-overseas-997700

We talk about suicide this week. In case you need it, here is the National Suicide Hotline Prevention Number 1-800-273-8255

https://www.thesun.co.uk/tvandshowbiz/3431712/disneys-miracle-star-michael-mantenuto-commits-suicide-aged-just-35/

Finally, here it “That Spidey Life” by Nerdist. Probably the most amazing thing I’ve seen/heard all week.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKW7NSgiCFo

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Comments

comments

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *